Dye Your Hair With Kool-Aid

Don’t you want some color in your hair without anything permanent? If you have, you will probably want to try this out. You can dye your hair purple, blue, green, orange, or anything in between with Kool-Aid. I found out how to do this on  Spoon University.

color hair2

I dyed my hair purple just on the tips. I used grape flavored Kool-Aid, and it ended up a little dark. If you want your hair a very specific color, there are a bunch of charts to show you what flavors you need to mix to make that certain color.

The color will last about 2-4 weeks, dependingon how long you soak your hair, what color you use, and what type of hair you have.

You’ll need to put your hair up in a ponytail if you’re planning on doing just the tips. Make sure your hair is tangle free (or it might look a little weird when it’s done.) You also might want to change into a shirt that you don;t care about too much, because Kool-Aid can stain. It didn’t stain when I did it, but it’s just a precaution.

You’ll Need:

  • Pot or pan
  • stove
  • 2 cups of water
  • 2 packets of Kool-Aid
  • Bowl or container
  • Towel
  • Hair

How To Do It:

First, put the pot on the stove and put 2 cups of water into the pot.

water pot

Next, you’ll need to put both of the packets of Kool-Aid into the water. Mix it around a little bit, just until it’s all dissolved.

colored water.JPG

Once all the powder has dissolved, turn on the stove to medium-high, and let it boil for about 2 minutes.

Once it is done boiling, immediately pour it into the bowl.

color bowl

Make sure your hair is tangle free and in a ponytail. Grab the section that you want to be colored and stick it in the juice.

hair in color

You’ll want to keep it in 20-30 minutes, but I kept mine in for 40 minutes, just because I wanted my color to be dark and noticeable, and my hair is kind of thick. (This part is a pain in your neck, since you’re bending your head back to keep it in the water. Just FYI.)

When your hair is done soaking, take your hair out of the bowl/container and dry it out. Take your hair out of the ponytail and brush through it.

Here’s my hair right after I brushed it:

wet purple1

Here’s my hair the next day after it dried:

(It doesn’t show up AS much on camera)

color hair2

I hope you found this helpful, and I hope your hair looks extra awesome now. Bye!

 

